whats a good build for programming ?

Steve007

Honorable
Dec 11, 2013
Okay so i know my hardware.
I will upgrade in the future (obviously)

this computer is for the long run (title says im a beginner which i am and i dont want a pc specificly for a beginner i want 1 for well until im very experienced or something)

i will use this pc for gaming too.

well id like to know what laptops (upto 1200$ would be good for this too)

the budget above is only for laptop for the desktop lets just be reasonable.

Solution
Okay a laptop to just 'work on' can be had at Walmart, a i3core for only $249. Light and enough power to do just the basics, no real gaming on them (maybe farmville but definitely NO WOT). As for a desktop you can go cheap at Walmart, pick up a i5 core Desktop, which will have 8GB RAM DDR3, 500+GB HDD, Bluray or DVD, keyboard, mouse and Windows installed for $349. Then buy a 600W PSU ($99) and a video card ($149-$499), and you can do 1900x1090 High Settings for BF4 64Man map at around 50FPS, to do it cheaply. Otherwise I would suggest Pick a Part to look up the parts (have to pay Windows seperately and that is $179 just by itself) to cobble together since you have $1200 to spend.

Personally I would suggest a i7 Core based desktop...
Okay this is all very generalized and you don't even tell us (download and run SPECCY then post) the specs on what you DO have at the moment.
Programming what? You doing C++ work? Java Scripting and HTML5 code? Programming EPROMS for nextgen Robotics? It help if you provide specifics on what your planning to program, and languages; or even better yet look up the minimal specs for those languages! They are included in the details / on the box.