What's a good storage setup for a gaming rig?

Selakah

Distinguished
Feb 19, 2010
Hi,

I've got a somewhat decent gaming system and I'm exploring some storage options. Unfortunately, I'm a complete novice when it comes to storage and it would be amazing if I you guys could provide me with some pointers on what sort of storage setup would be good for a gaming system.

My system:

Intel i7 920 OC'd 3.8Ghz
MSI ATI Radeon HD5970
6GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator RAM
Asus P6T Deluxe V2
Corsair HX1000W PSU
Antec Twelve Hundred case
Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB WD2001FAS
Windows 7 64-bits

Currently I've got my OS and 150GB worth of games on my Western Digital.

What some people have suggested me is to get a SSD to use for my OS and applications, keep the WD as purely a storage drive, and go for a Velociraptor for games-only. I've also seen some talk about "ghosting" (I got no clue what this is) which is supposed to let a regular HDD benefit from the reading speeds of a SSD.

Like I stated above, I'm a complete novice in terms of storage. I've never paid much attention to hard drives before, but people keep telling me that a SSD is the "single most noticeable upgrade" you can get for your PC right now, and I'm willing to jump into the bandwagon. Problem is, I'm a gamer and the storage size of SSD's seems to be very limiting unless you got loads and loads of cash to drop. So using a SSD for anything other than the OS/applications seems out of the question.

My budget is about $500-$600. Based on that, and taking into account the WD I already own, what would be the best way to spend this money to get a good storage setup for my gaming system?

Thanks in advance.

jbakerlent

Distinguished
Since your system is already very high end, you could add a fast, small sized SSD for the OS/Office/Firefox/etc.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227531&cm_re=agility_2-_-20-227-531-_-Product