Question Where to get Corsair Obsidian 1000D fan trays?!

Mar 30, 2022
Hey, guys.

I'm building a new system in the Corsair Obsidian 1000D case. I've been building systems for 30 years, but this is my first liquid-cooled build and the buzzword for this build is "overkill". I've spared no expense or extravagance in building this system, but I'm running into clearance issues with my radiators/fans. I chose to go with the default tray configuration, so I put 2 x Corsair XR7 480mm radiators along with 16 x Corsair QL120 fans on the front tray and 1 x Corsair XR5 420mm radiator along with 6 x QL140 fans on the top tray. With everything assembled, the front tray went in just fine, but when I tried putting in the top tray, the front-most bottom fan up top won't clear the top fans on the front. Even if removed the one offending QL140 fan, there would still be no room to run any tubing to the inlets/outlets on the XR7 radiators.

I went back and looked at Corsair's Obsidian 1000D YouTube video more carefully and found that while it looks like they're using the default tray configuration, they're actually using a 4 x 120mm tray up top and only placing a 360mm radiator with 6 x QL120 fans in the first three slots, which is how they avoid any clearance issues. So I decided to go with an 8 x 120mm tray up top with 2 x XR5 360mm radiators and 12 x QL120 fans. The only problem is that I can't seem to find ANY trays for the 1000D... like... ANYWHERE.