Which is easier - OC Intel or Ryzen?

vwcrusher

Distinguished
Oct 16, 2012
OC newbie here - seems that from a performance perspective (gaming and some photo editing) both the i7-8700k and R7-2700x are very close.

I plan on some mild overclocking on the CPU, RAM and GPU, and as I haven't done this before, are there any differences in the procedure for Intel and AMD?

Any other advice is greatly appreciated.

Lutfij

Titan
They are different ofc, due to their architecture and how things are labelled in the BIOS. If we're here to answer which one is easier to overclock, y take would be, both are simple provided you know what you're doing. A fool, stumbling in the dark, will think the world is out to get him. A smart bloke, in the dark, will rather feel his way and tread carefully.

So that being said, mind sharing your platform specs like so:
CPU:
Motherboard:
Ram:
SSD/HDD:
GPU:
PSU:
Chassis:

vwcrusher

Distinguished
Oct 16, 2012

Thanks for the reply....regarding platform, I will list current system. I have started upgrading some line items (*).
Thanks!

For a basic overclock Intel is as simple as picking a couple of daisies. I don't have experience with Ryzen processors. On my 6600k I used ASUS overclocking software to turn up the multiplier until it stopped being stable. Then I went into the BIOS and changed it there to make it permanent. (and uninstalled the ASUS software) On my 6600k I went from stock to 4400MHz stable 24/7. My understanding is that the 8000 series don't typically have as much headroom but run at higher clocks by default.

What I've read about Ryzen is that the infinity fabric benefits from higher speed memory. So for better overclocks faster ram is beneficial. Intel systems don't seem to care as much. In general though I think intel systems are more expensive. So you spend a little more on ram or a little more on the Intel brand.