which ram should I buy?

G

I am prepairing to build a new computer, based on the KT266A chipset, specifically the Abit KR7A 133R. I will probably have a 1900+ XP, and possibly a GeForce 4 Ti 4400.

I am not sure what kind of RAM I should get. I have heard that the brand of memory matters with DDR ram more than any other kind, so I want to make sure to do it right the first time. I have heard good things about Crucial and Kingston, and more recently Corsair. The last one really catches my attention because I will be wanting to overclock this new box some, and the heat-sinks will come in handy there. There has been some talk of Samsung, Infineon, and Nanya chips on the ram being less-stable than Micron or Kingmax, but, I have no experience with DDR ram.

Please let me know what you guys think would be the best stick for me. Oh yeah, I will probably be getting a 256mb stick, PC2100. I apprciate your help.

ath0mps0

Distinguished
Feb 16, 2002
If you are planning on overclocking I would suggest you get PC2400 or PC2700. RAM is usually the limiting factor in FSB overclocking, especially with the extra PCI divisors that are availble on some motherboards. The Corsair is usually the most overclockable, but Micron(Crucial.com) is less expensive and is of high quality. Getting CL2 is also something I would stress, although most CL2.5 will do CL2.

Best RAM: Corsair PC2700 CL2 - also most expensive....

I thought a thought, but the thought I thought wasn't the thought I thought I had thought.

FatBurger

Illustrious
If you're getting PC2100, get Crucial. If you're getting PC2400 or PC2700, get Corsair.

<font color=orange>Quarter</font color=orange> <font color=blue>Pounder</font color=blue> <font color=orange>Inside</font color=orange>

jlanka

Splendid
Mar 16, 2001