[SOLVED] Which SSD to buy?

Kaname78

Prominent
Apr 30, 2019
Hello, I'm fairly new to some of these things but right now I'm wanting to replace my ssd. I currently have the apacer as340 ssd and it's 120gb I'd like to replace it with a larger ssd however I don't want to end up buying a slower one. I'm considering replacing it with the sk hynix gold s31 500gb 3d nand however I'm not sure if that drive is slower or not. Does anyone know if that would be a good replacement? Thank you very much for reading. (this is for my main drive with windows, I already looked into how to transfer everything)

Update: I ended up deciding on going with a samsung 970 evo

Last edited:
Solution
If budget is a not a direct constraint then that permits you to spend more towards quality products.

Better is relative. You need criteria to evaluate. Budget is one such factor.

You mentioned that you do not want a "slower one". Even a fast SSD could be slow depending on the host system's hardware, software, and configuration. Details matter.

Consider speed/compatibility, durability, support, diagnostic tools, power requirements, and so forth.

Speed and performance claims are often established in ideal environments. Real world applicability and performance is often less.

For SSD's that is not as necessarily complex as if purchasing a GPU or a printer.

I tend to stay with known/recognized brands and spread my purchases...

Ralston18

Titan
If budget is a not a direct constraint then that permits you to spend more towards quality products.

Better is relative. You need criteria to evaluate. Budget is one such factor.

You mentioned that you do not want a "slower one". Even a fast SSD could be slow depending on the host system's hardware, software, and configuration. Details matter.

Consider speed/compatibility, durability, support, diagnostic tools, power requirements, and so forth.