Which type of DDR3 do i buy?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tbhizzle

Honorable
May 19, 2012
i am about to build a pc for my self and im kinda new. im using a ASUS P8Z77-V LK and Intel i5 2500k sandybridge
the Intel page says that i can use DDR3-1066/1333 but what does that exactly mean? im not sure what my options are in terms of buying ram. can someone help me with this basic question. sorry if this is really easy stuff, this is my first build ever

Solution
I recommend CORSAIR Vengeance 99% of the time, quality RAM and low profile with XMP profile. And if u will get an aftermarket CPU cooler, low profile is the worry free remedy with perfect fit with any large cooler.
CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233196
Vengeance Low Profile heat spreaders have a reduced height of 1.03" (26.25mm). They're designed for high-performance systems with extra-large CPU coolers, small form factor system builds, or any other space-constrained application where standard Vengeance memory might not fit.
20-233-186-TS

kivblue

Honorable
May 1, 2012
Your CPU will officially support up to 1333 DDR3 RAM, that's basically what it means but many people ignore the guidelines and get 1600 RAM, which is officially supported if you have Ivy Bridge CPU. So basically those who are stuck with Sandy Bridge go get 1600 RAM to not feel inferior.