Whoa whoa whoa, where do I stick my monitor?

grarap

Distinguished
May 22, 2007
Now this may sound like a totally bizare question, but I just ordered a MSI P965 Platinum and LG widescreen monitor. However I've got no idea if the board has a connector for my screen, and I certainly cant see one. Could somebody here quickly put my mind at rest and tell me which port my monitor should connect to, and whether there's any chance that I could connect a DVI cable to it? Sorry, its my first time building a system!

haywood

Distinguished
Sep 5, 2006
1. Did you order a video card? THe connector for the monitor would be on that since the mobo does not have built in graphics.

2. Send that mobo back and get the Gigabyte P965 DS3 or Asus P5B-E. Both are much better. You will still need a vid card. If you don't want or need a vid card get the Gigabyte G965-DS3, G stands for graphics.

anticupidon

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2007
on the same page MSI it is a small button "technical specifications" did you noticed it?
oki if not i did and it says that specific mobo has not integrated graphics -your connector to the monitor problem
usually we connect monitors to video cards ..right guys?
oki don't mean to be harsh but consider some research before posting

Sheepish

Distinguished
Aug 25, 2006
No integrated graphics + no gfx card = no display!

If you dont play any 3d games either change mobo to something with integrated, Scan do a DS3 with integrated for only a few pounds more. Or buy a cheap 7100/7300 or x1350. Gaming and you'll need more ^^

I ordered the exact same monitor from OCUK on Sunday and it arrived today. Same picture features on OCUK but it arrived as a silver monitor and black stand instead of the black monitor / white stand as pictured. If you could report back with what yours looks like when it arrives :)

grarap

Distinguished
May 22, 2007
on the same page MSI it is a small button "technical specifications" did you noticed it?