Question Why is default CPU benchmark crashing my pc?

Benjy67

Prominent
May 19, 2017
I recently upgraded to an i9-9900K. I used the Intel Extreme Tuning Utility program to start overclocking. I'm still very new to overclocking CPUs, so i started slowly and used default settings. After many crashes, I went back to default ghz (which is 4.7) and tried running a benchmark. It also crashed. Why am I crashing at default overclock settings? I ran into a loop of the computer encountering a problem, and no way to fix it until I went onto a restore point. Not sure what happened or what I'm doing, but I'm done overclocking without some serious help.

For some information when I overclocked, I used 1.2volts and tried 5.0ghz. I currently run default volts and 4.7ghz, (default) but I dare not benchmark anymore. When I do, I crash immediately.

My idle temps are 40-60c.

Side note: should I be worried about the current state of my new CPU?

I would not expect 1.2V to work w/ stability, frankly, the 9900K is just two overclocked 7700Ks (effectively), of which mine required 1.248 (stock) to hit 4.7 GHz, but, was insufficient for 4.8 GHz, which would crash Prime95/blue screen/reboot within 20-30 seconds..... An extra .05V was needed for 4.8 GHz, but, I was unsatisfied with 7-8C increase in temps to even 83C, so stuck with 4.7 GHz...

Have you tinkered with any core voltage offset settings in XTU....? Is your mainboard's BIOS set to default/auto for voltage settings?

What is your motherboard? 9900K needs a better than average motherboard for overclocking.
What is your case and fan setup?
What is your cooler?
At idle, you should see 10-15c. over ambient.

Much more and check your cooler installation and your case airflow.

What is your temperature when running XTU? XTU is a heat generator and 100c. will throttle or fail.

Benjy67

Prominent
May 19, 2017
What is your motherboard? 9900K needs a better than average motherboard for overclocking.
What is your case and fan setup?