[SOLVED] Why is my CPU clock speed dropping during stress testing?

George9t8

Prominent
Jun 4, 2021
www.georgeandreou.net
Some background, I'm not overclocking, and don't want to do anything risky, I'm just curious about CPU speeds, throttling and limits, and want to understand why my CPU is behaving the way it is.

I have an Asus Z390P motherboard with 32GB RAM clocked at 3200, and just upgraded to an i7-9700KF, which has a base speed of 3.6 and turbo boost up to 4.9. I have a Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo v2.

I had experimented with some minor adjustments in Intel's XTU and OC Tuner in my BIOS because my clock speed was stuck at 3.9 (I think because that was the max speed of my old CPU), but after restoring BIOS defaults the problem was resolved and I then uninstalled XTU. The only thing I changed in the BIOS is to enable XMP and set fan speeds.

What I'm struggling to understand, and can't find an answer to anywhere, is why when I stress test the CPU the clock speeds drop within a few seconds at temperatures under the CPUs safe limit:

Intel's Extreme Tuning Utility
XTU reports Power Limit Throttling after just a few seconds after package temperature peaks at around 75 degrees, with power reading 125W. Then clock speed drops to 4.2 and power reading reduces to 95W for the duration of the stress test.

Prime95
The clock speeds begin at the safe turbo frequency of 4.6 and all core temperatures reach mid 70s. The speeds very quickly begin to drop, first to 4.2, 3.9, then settle at around 3.7 for a while then back up to 4.1 where it settles, with all core temperature at around 65 after the initial peak. No errors or warnings are reported after 45mins.

Cinibench multicore test
Clock speeds start at 4.7 and temperature quickly reaches 83 for the hottest core, then speeds drop to around 4.25 and temperatures settle at mid 60s for the duration of the test.

GPU stress tests (Heaven, 3DMark Timespy)