Wich is the best upgrade for my rig if I am a web developer and a casual gamer?

javierbyte

Honorable
Nov 20, 2013
I am a web developer/designer and a casual gamer. I use Photoshop, Illustrator, play Skyrim...

Specs:
Phenom II X4 3.2ghz x 4
Saphire Radeon 7770
8gb DDR3 1333mhz
Gigabyte M68MT-S2P mobo
2x320gb 7200rpm HDD
Edge 600w PSU

I was thinking about buy an 120gb SSD, or a new mobo and then the FX 8350, or a new mobo an then another 7770 (and if needed, a new PSU). What do you think?

Solution
For web development, well if you want to become anything and you do designing yourself.

A 256gb SSD is recommended atleast and another one 128gb would be optimal for the OS. The 256gb is where your programs will live and your scratchdisk area will be. I use 30gb scratchdisk on average and bring my 16gb of ram to its knee's constantly.

Remember that a customer can ask you to make a video as well, at some point some after effects skills will be needed, if you will skip that part your easily looking at a 1500 euro project misser.
You can go with an ati radeon GPU if you will not use ray tracing, i dont really use it and besides, for compiling programs i noticed that the radeon can have an edge in certain situations.

Depends on program...

DragonChase

Honorable
May 22, 2013
For web development, well if you want to become anything and you do designing yourself.

A 256gb SSD is recommended atleast and another one 128gb would be optimal for the OS. The 256gb is where your programs will live and your scratchdisk area will be. I use 30gb scratchdisk on average and bring my 16gb of ram to its knee's constantly.

Remember that a customer can ask you to make a video as well, at some point some after effects skills will be needed, if you will skip that part your easily looking at a 1500 euro project misser.