[SOLVED] Will adding an SSD to an old PC improve it's performance

Jun 20, 2020
Hi,
I am a newbie to computer hardware.

I have the following system (old one, built in 2010-11)
Intel Dual core E5400 2.7GHz
Gigabyte GA-G31M-ES2L motherboard
4GB DDR3 800MHz RAM
500GB HDD
No graphics card.
Windows 7 ultimate

I am into WordPress & PHP website development and my typical day-to-day usage is -
  1. Multiple tabs of Chrome browser
  2. Text editor to edit PHP code
  3. Occasionally, Photoshop CS5
The system works okay for my requirements, but with more browser tabs and programs running, it becomes a bit sluggish.

I am wondering if it would be possible and beneficial to install Windows 10 and all the softwares (e.g. photoshop) on an SSD while keeping the rest of hardware same? Will the sluggishness of the system be taken care of by doing so?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Last edited:
Solution
Hi,

4GB DDR3 800MHz RAM
500GB HDD
No graphics card.
Windows 7 ultimate

I am into WordPress & PHP website development and my typical day-to-day usage is -
The system works okay for my requirements, but with more browser tabs and programs running, it becomes a bit sluggish.

I am wondering if it would be possible and beneficial to install Windows 10 and all the softwares (e.g. photoshop) on an SSD while keeping the rest of hardware same? Will the sluggishness of the system be...
Hi,

4GB DDR3 800MHz RAM
500GB HDD
No graphics card.
Windows 7 ultimate

I am wondering if it would be possible and beneficial to install Windows 10 and all the softwares (e.g. photoshop) on an SSD while keeping the rest of hardware same? Will the sluggishness of the system be taken care of by doing so?

"Sluggish" may be due to little RAM but an SSD will certainly make it look faster specially with disk heavy programs.
Another problem is that your MB doesn't have any SATA 3 (6gbps) ports so SSD would not be able to run full speed although it would still be much faster than any HDD.

Solution
Jun 20, 2020