Question Will Cloning My Macbook Pro Drive/OS/Entire System From SSD to HDD Cause Data Loss?

Nov 24, 2020
Hello everyone, this is my first time using tomshardware.com for anything other than looking at news or reviews for consumer products etc. so please go easy on me and if I am doing/formatting/asking anything in the wrong way or forum please let me know!

I currently own a Macbook Pro early 2015 model with a 128GB factory SSD. I've recently purchased a new OWC aura pro X2 480GB SSD and would like to install this new SSD in my laptop after I have done all the necessary research and finished up everything I need to have done. I'm in no rush to get the new one in it but I thought I would started putting out my feelers into the world and determine what the correct way to go about doing so would be in the least susceptible-to-damage-way possible. After looking into it, using the disk utility function on the Macbook will be the way to go about cloning and using a bootable version of the OS to be able to use after installation of my new SSD.

My question for all of you is: will cloning from an SSD to an HDD, and vice versa, cause any type of data loss or curruption in the transition.

I understand HDDs and SSDs are two very different types of storage mechanisms and use vastly different technologies so it has made me wonder if there is any vulnerability for loss/corruption in the way data is transferred from SSD to HDD/HDD to SSD. I have an external HDD I plan on using to clone the drive onto for booting the OS after the new SSD is installed and the possibility of losing any files that are physically stored on my SSD is something that makes me wary about this method. I do, however, have the utmost confidence Apple has very thoroughly scrutinized the way this process is handled and has accounted for every possibility. But, I thought it wouldn't hurt to ask.

I also have some additional, less pertinent but still meaningful, questions I hope you folks can help answer.