[SOLVED] Will I able to edit some music videos with this PC specs?

fra9618

Prominent
May 7, 2020
Hi guys ,
I'm new here, nice to meet you all.

I would know If my Pc is able to render Full HD (1080p), 60 FPS videos, recorded with "old" entry level reflex cameras by Canon ( color correction and grading, blurs,video transitions etc.).

For instance:
I normally use the free trial software Hitfilm Express 13, and with it, I can render 720p, 60 fps videos from my 13 MP smartphone camera to my PC.
I would also appreciate more advice about the reflex models because I don't know anything about cameras and I'm a total rookie in this world.
I would like to make some basic music videos. With my pre-built PC I usually make music production and I'm tired to use my phone to record videos while I'm singing. At the same time, I don't want to spend more than 250€ for used stuff (270 $,I'm from Italy) or 400 € for something new (433$).

My PC is a pre-built, Lenovo ideacentre 300-20ish, desktop computer, and the specs are:

Thank you some much,
and greetings from Italy! ;)

Solution
I've edited and rendered GoPro videos shot at 1080p/60 with my MacBook Pro from 2013 which has an i5 and only 4GB RAM. Like ScrewySqrl mentioned, rendering would be faster on something high end but I don't think it will be a problem for you because you have plenty of RAM and a discrete graphics card which might help render certain effects but I'm not too familiar with your editing software.

If your 1TB hard drive is not an SSD, consider picking up a 250GB or so SSD and install your OS on it and then save your video files on the 1TB, everything will run faster if you use an SSD.

One note on the camera selection - I don't see on Nikon's site indicated that the D3500 has a microphone input; will you be recording in the field or only...

fra9618

Prominent
May 7, 2020
you should be able to edit video just fine with that.