[SOLVED] Will more CPU cores produce more heat even with the same TDP?

Ratteus

Prominent
Oct 27, 2021
I was wondering if more cores will produce more heat.
Will frequency also be a factor in the production of heat?
A Ryzen 3 2200G and a Ryzen 5 3600 has the same TDP which is 65W, but does that mean that they'll produce the same amount of heat?
If this was already posted before and was already answered, then I apologize. I'm fairly new to PCs.

Solution
But that also depends on the architecture of the cpu. A 2200G and a 3600 will not have the same output speeds, even if running identical wattage and loads. The huge bonus to Lcache seen by the 3600, it's higher available thread count, higher IPC means on a clock for clock, the 3600 can do more work more efficiently, which further raises the amount of work done when all other parameters are similar.

It's like saying a Nascar and grandpa's old Buick in should have similar performance since both are V8's.

TDP is thermal design power. Literally means that at a standard testing procedure, they'll produce the same (ish) amount of heat. Frequency and core count and other factors are not part of the equation, just the power used/heat output...
TDP just refers to the amount of cooling the company thinks is enough to cool the CPU in a complex workload.

At the same power draw they will produce the same amount of "heat" although it depends on what someone understands under the word heat.

If you give two CPUs the same amount of watts to work with the one with more cores will run at lower clocks because the watts will be divided by the amount of cores.
The one with less cores will be able to run higher clocks, which one will be faster will depend heavily on the type of work that is used.

Karadjgne

Titan
Ambassador