Will my amp be safe?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sansiiro

Prominent
Aug 21, 2017
Hello!

I am a bit noob at the subject of hi-fi, but I am worried about
keeping my amp and my speakers in good health.

I have old Pioneer SX-305RDS amp, which produces 60 watts per channel
(20-20KHz, both channels driven, 8 ohm).
And dynamic power output is 100/80 W (4/8 ohm).

Since I recently bought two speakers, I am worried weather they
will be underpowered and weather this will ruin my amp and thereafter
through sound distortions ruin the speakers themselves.

The speakers are Heco Victa Prime 702
Power-handling capacity 170/300W, 4-8 ohm,
efficiency 91 DB, and recommended amplifier output 30 - 300 W.

I have read many times, that it would be great for amp to
be more powerful than it would be necessary, but since
these speakers strike me as power-hungry, I am worried.

I would like to ask:

1) Would it be safe to turn the volume all the way up?

2) And if it is not, will the amp take the first bullet?

3) How is it possible for speakers to have 170-300 W power specification
but then to have amp power recommended only since 30 W? What If I had only
30 W amp, can they honestly mark this as "recommended and safe"?

Thank You!

kanewolf

Titan
Speakers aren't "power hungry" because they are rated for 170W. That is a maximum, like a speed limit. You don't hurt your car by driving under the speed limit. The 91dB efficiency is a better indication of "power hungry" because that says how much sound the speakers can generate from a known input. Having speakers rated at higher wattage than the amp is not a bad thing, it protects the speakers. If your Pioneer has good airflow for cooling, you should be able to run the volume loud.