will my intel i5 3570 bottle neck MSI gtx 970 Twin Frozr V???

JuanitoMiguelito

Reputable
Jan 8, 2015
Hello guys,

i'm planning to buy msi gtx 970 twin frozr v because it's the only available gpu on my location, i just want to ask if my current cpu will bottleneck the performance of the said gpu.

here's my system

Asus P8Z77-v lk mobo
G.skill ripjaws 8gb
intel i5 3570 non k @3.40ghz
corsair VS650w

and also how much can i overclock the said gpu using stock coolers ? and how about my psu is it good ?

thanks in advance i'm still a noob at rig setup.

Solution
The K variant is unlocked an meant for overclocking. It also comes with a warranty for damage caused by OCing. I don't think you will even need to OC your 3570 to get the performance you're looking for though. I have my i5-3570K paired with a r9 290 and it's doing great without OCing. I bought it knowing that I could OC in the future, but haven't reached a point where I needed to.

JuanitoMiguelito

Reputable
Jan 8, 2015

thanks! how about my psu, is good enough ? i've checked the list of psu tiers on some thread here, i wasn't able to locate my psu. and if i plan to overclock my gpu should i oc my cpu as well ?

Sep 10, 2013

I wouldn't overclock a non-K cpu. Definitely not if it is on a stock cooler.

OriginalCadaver

Reputable
May 24, 2014
If you haven't already purchased the CPU, drop the extra 20 bucks and get the i5-3570k version. It is excellent for overclocking, and you will find plenty of material on here and other places for OCing that CPU. I would suggest going with the 650TX instead of the VS. The VS uses cheaper components and is usually found in your mass produced computers. I'm sure it's a fine CPU, but the TX is higher quality and going to offer better efficiency.

JuanitoMiguelito

Reputable
Jan 8, 2015

i'm planning on getting, the corsair obsidian 450d will that suffice ? the airflow review on that one seems pretty good.

JuanitoMiguelito

Reputable
Jan 8, 2015