Will These OC Settings Decrease the Lifespan of My Strix 1080?

MisterNguyen

Honorable
Aug 29, 2016
https://postimg.org/image/mas2zklhv/
That's the highest core I can achieve. Unigine crashes if I add +10 MHz to it. I also keep the memory clock at +1150; I can go higher, but I get lower benchmark results on Unigine.

https://postimg.org/image/iiwbkpnvx/
I decided to play around with the fan curve a little bit, especially after the temperature of my GPU rose to 75 c after only playing the Resident Evil 7 demo for roughly 15 minutes @ 1440p with max settings.

Will these OC settings decrease the lifespan of my card? I'm still new to overclocking.

Thanks!

Solution
No worries man, none at all.
For OCing, you’ll get artifacts and crashes if you go too far, and even when the card starts acting all jacked up – it is still not being damaged. Kind of a long explanation as to how computers work, but basically when you OC things become less stable and the PC ends up guessing. Too many wrong guesses causes problems – but not damage.

Really the only way to cause actual damage is heat. And heat just isn’t going to be an issue for you – you’re going to reach instability before you reach thermal problems, as you have discovered.

Wanting to adjust your fan curve to be a bit more conservative is totally ok. I don’t like to hear my GPU spin up so I have it hit 100% fan speed at 80C. with 50% fan speed...
Increased temperature would potentially decrease lifespan.

But we are talking days off of decades here. Modern transistors and capacitors have incredible lifespans, and will not only out last us but could potentially see the sun dim and life end as we know it. Electronics are incredibly reliable.

MisterNguyen

Honorable
Aug 29, 2016