Will this gaming PC be enough to run certain games well?

civildistress20

Reputable
Nov 8, 2014
I am getting a new computer as my current one is quite old and it won't cut with the new games coming out. I have 2 questions:

1. Will this build run the following games on high/medium with a steady 60+ fps:
(Arma 2 & 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield Hardline, Rust, Star Wars: Battlefront)

2. What is the difference between a Intel Core i5-4690 3.5GHz Quad-Core OEM/Tray Processor and a Intel Core i5-4690k 3.5GHz Quad-Core OEM/Tray Processor?

I'm not sure if they are the same thing or not. The i5-4690k is priced higher than the i5-4690 and I am not sure if there is a difference and if there is, how big of a difference. Help would be nice since I will be ordering this computer probably by the end of the week. Thanks!

I should also add in that this is my first time building a PC.

Here are the parts I have picked out currently. http://pcpartpicker.com/p/kTYQvK

CPU: Intel Core i5-4690 3.5GHz Quad-Core OEM/Tray Processor
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler
Motherboard: ASRock Z97M Pro4 Micro ATX LGA1150 Motherboard
Memory: G.Skill Sniper 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
Video Card: EVGA GeForce GTX 960 2GB Superclocked Video Card
Case: NZXT Source 210 (Black) ATX Mid Tower Case
Power Supply: EVGA SuperNOVA NEX 650W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply

Solution
1. Yes.

2. The 4690K is unlocked, meaning you can overclock it. To Overclock you need a Z87/97 motherboard (which you have currently). A regular 4690 can't be overclocked, and thus doesn't benefit from a z87/97 motherboard (unless you want to SLI video cards later on). An H97 board is cheaper and provides 99% of the same features as a Z-series board, just no overclocking, and no SLI support.