[SOLVED] Windows 10 - in the classroom/office

Apr 23, 2019
Hey Guys,

Thanks in advance for any helpful info!

I'm fairly new to IT and even more so with windows pc's, if any of this seems like stuff I should just go and learn I completely understand but thought I would see if you knowledgeable people could throw your 2cts in.

So I have the task of preparing about 10 pcs for use in a VFX course that is being implemented this coming year and normally I work with macs. due to the amount of work stations I'm not too worried about deploying or anything but have some (maybe silly) questions about using pcs in a classroom environment: With the way macs are built using SIP and app sandboxing there's not too much to worry about in terms of security - when they are being used by less than responsible students however, from my fairly limited knowledge of pc's it seems it might be more of an issue and want to know the best way to make these PCs internet ready but also safe from the dangers that can face windows PCs without child-lock account types. Is it a simply case of good quality anti-virus and using Standard accounts for student users or is it one of those things that unless you restrict access to the internet or turn it off completely then its just a matter of time before these machines get the cyber aids. They will be very high-spec machines with a lot of dedicated programs and don't want to have to spend my time troubleshooting them due to students using them for dodgy downloads etc. My intention is to put them on a sub-network so that the rest of the macOS comps are separated network-wise but in terms of maintaining a secure network and individual workstations I just am a little unsure. Ultimately, I have to do some serious research to get up to scratch with managing windows computers but anything you think could be worth noting down or looking into would be a great help. Thank you

Solution
the classrooms at the college i go to have the right idea.