Question Windows 10 WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR - can you please help me?

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
what are full specs of the PC?

I will ask a friend to convert dumps but often the results of WHEA errors don't tell me a lot. Will show drivers running at least

Do you need to be doing anything specific to get them?
 
Reactions: navil.n
Jan 20, 2022
12
1
10
0
Thanks so much for your response. Are the dxdiag logs good enough for system info?
Here is a link: https://drive.google.com/file/d/14unFuC_QvSfa1nc1z8x_O8Dm1GsMwqA2/view?usp=sharing

I had the browser (chrome) open, and was in the middle of a Microsoft Teams meeting (using the web version via browser).

System info summary:

Code:
------------------
System Information
------------------
      Time of this report: 1/20/2022, 23:44:17
             Machine name: AORUS2021
               Machine Id: {4464D71E-0B23-446A-8826-0F52F18AB9C3}
         Operating System: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (10.0, Build 19044) (19041.vb_release.191206-1406)
                 Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
      System Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
             System Model: X570 AORUS MASTER
                     BIOS: F30 (type: UEFI)
                Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5900X 12-Core Processor             (12 CPUs), ~3.7GHz
                   Memory: 32768MB RAM
      Available OS Memory: 32714MB RAM
                Page File: 15265MB used, 33453MB available
              Windows Dir: C:\Windows
          DirectX Version: DirectX 12
      DX Setup Parameters: Not found
         User DPI Setting: 168 DPI (175 percent)
       System DPI Setting: 144 DPI (150 percent)
          DWM DPI Scaling: UnKnown
                 Miracast: Available, no HDCP
Microsoft Graphics Hybrid: Not Supported
 DirectX Database Version: 1.0.8
           DxDiag Version: 10.00.19041.0928 64bit Unicode
 
Jan 20, 2022
12
1
10
0
Interestingly, while I was trying to get the system info, i suffered a BSOD, but this time with no minidump file created.
After rebooting I checked the Windows event log and i found these two messages:

Code:
A fatal hardware error has occurred.

Reported by component: Processor Core
Error Source: Machine Check Exception
Error Type: Bus/Interconnect Error
Processor APIC ID: 0

The details view of this entry contains further information.
Code:
A fatal hardware error has occurred.

Reported by component: Processor Core
Error Source: Machine Check Exception
Error Type: Cache Hierarchy Error
Processor APIC ID: 9

The details view of this entry contains further information.
Link to the event data:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/14wiwTYGnFXk8CG4F_Rmhfu9FU16PKzvz/view?usp=sharing
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
CPU - R9 5900X
MB Aorus X570 Master - You are on BIos F30, latest is F35E, it might fix errors. https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/X570-AORUS-MASTER-rev-10/support#support-dl-bios
Ram - 32gb - who makes?
GPU - RTX 3080
Storage - 1tb Samsung 980 Pro
DXDiag is close but it doesn't know what Power supply you have, or what else might be attached.


I could do without Machine Check Exceptions. But WHEA and MCE are fairly close to each other.

One guy fixed that one with a BIOS update - https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/all/my-computer-is-crashing-with-this-error-code/7acd48eb-fc2c-409d-829e-182c1c2d42fc?auth=1
 
Reactions: navil.n
Jan 20, 2022
12
1
10
0
CPU - R9 5900X
MB Aorus X570 Master - You are on BIos F30, latest is F35E, it might fix errors. https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/X570-AORUS-MASTER-rev-10/support#support-dl-bios
Ram - 32gb - who makes?
GPU - RTX 3080
Storage - 1tb Samsung 980 Pro
DXDiag is close but it doesn't know what Power supply you have, or what else might be attached.


I could do without Machine Check Exceptions. But WHEA and MCE are fairly close to each other.

One guy fixed that one with a BIOS update - https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/all/my-computer-is-crashing-with-this-error-code/7acd48eb-fc2c-409d-829e-182c1c2d42fc?auth=1
  • Memory is G Skill Trident Z Neo RGB 32GB (2 x 16GB)
  • It has installed a Corsair 850W AX 80+ Titanium PSU.
  • Let me know how I can provide the other info you need?
Thanks so much for the link to the BIOS. I've been relying on Aorus App center for BIOS updates, and didn't realize that it wasn't pulling the latest BIOS info there.
I will manually try to download and install the latest one.
 
Jan 20, 2022
12
1
10
0
I've flashed the new F35e BIOS, going to run the machine for a while and see how it goes. Will report back if any further issues.
Thanks again
 

gardenman

Distinguished
Moderator
Hi, I ran the dump file through the debugger and got the following information: https://jsfiddle.net/4t8bucgy/show This link is for anyone wanting to help. You do not have to view it. It is safe to "run the fiddle" as the page asks.

File information:012022-11609-01.dmp (Jan 20 2022 - 00:15:51)
Bugcheck:WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR (124)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process running at time of crash: chrome.exe)
Uptime:1 Day(s), 0 Hour(s), 39 Min(s), and 15 Sec(s)

Possible Motherboard page: https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/X570-AORUS-MASTER-rev-10/
If you have Revision 1.0 of the motherboard, there is a BIOS update available for your system. You are using BIOS version F30. The latest is version F35e. Wait for additional information before deciding to update or not. Important: Verify that I have linked to the correct motherboard. Updating your BIOS can be risky. Never try it when you might lose power (lightning storms, recent power outages, etc).

This information can be used by others to help you. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
 
Reactions: navil.n
Jan 20, 2022
12
1
10
0
any BSOD since BIOS updates?

if so, what do you use Citrix for?
Thanks for following up! No BSOD since (fingers crossed that it stays this way), but i didn't get a chance to sit on the PC much over the weekend.
The next 5 days will be more telling, when I am actually sitting on the machine and working.

As for Citrix, its for work (VPN)
 
Jan 20, 2022
12
1
10
0
Ahhh, I spoke too soon. Sat down to do some development today, and it BSOD on me with no crash dump.
Windows event viewers shows these:

Code:
A fatal hardware error has occurred.

Reported by component: Processor Core
Error Source: Machine Check Exception
Error Type: Cache Hierarchy Error
Processor APIC ID: 9
and

Code:
A fatal hardware error has occurred.

Reported by component: Processor Core
Error Source: Machine Check Exception
Error Type: Bus/Interconnect Error
Processor APIC ID: 0

The details view of this entry contains further information.
Any suggestions?
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
suggestions? I wish I hadn't asked how it was going now, I should know better with BSOD (its like poking a bear)

AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
X570 AORUS MASTER (latest BIOS)
32gb G Skill Trident Z Neo RGB 32GB (2 x 16GB) F4-3600C16-16GTZNC
GPU - RTX 3080
Storage - 1tb Samsung 980 Pro
Corsair 850W AX 80+ Titanium PSU.
I don't see any obvious weak points there

same errors as last time so BIOS wasn't answer.

Try running Prime 95 on CPU (also checks ram) - https://www.guru3d.com/files-details/prime95-download.html
Prime 95 how to Guide: http://www.playtool.com/pages/prime95/prime95.html

Try running Magician on the NVME - https://www.samsung.com/semiconductor/minisite/ssd/download/tools/
not sure if the Samsung NVME drivers apply to the Pro. (they on the above link just under Magician)


Be sure to reset CMOS after flashing.
I thought flashing it cleared it anyway? it normally resets bios?
 
Jan 20, 2022
12
1
10
0
suggestions? I wish I hadn't asked how it was going now, I should know better with BSOD (its like poking a bear)

AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
X570 AORUS MASTER (latest BIOS)
32gb G Skill Trident Z Neo RGB 32GB (2 x 16GB) F4-3600C16-16GTZNC
GPU - RTX 3080
Storage - 1tb Samsung 980 Pro
Corsair 850W AX 80+ Titanium PSU.
I don't see any obvious weak points there

same errors as last time so BIOS wasn't answer.

Try running Prime 95 on CPU (also checks ram) - https://www.guru3d.com/files-details/prime95-download.html
Prime 95 how to Guide: http://www.playtool.com/pages/prime95/prime95.html

Try running Magician on the NVME - https://www.samsung.com/semiconductor/minisite/ssd/download/tools/
not sure if the Samsung NVME drivers apply to the Pro. (they on the above link just under Magician)
hehe, poke the grizzly and win deadly prizes!!

Thanks, I've used Prime95 before to test stability, but yes I will try it again and see how it goes.
I've never used Magician before, I will give that a whirl as well.
 
....
I thought flashing it cleared it anyway? it normally resets bios?
I think it should too...but not always. I've personally dealt with a updates to my son's motherboard where it either didn't clear CMOS or at least not all the registers...evidenced by boot-looping and not training memory. I do know that when doing a BIOS update using the UEFI utility there are a couple of command line options you have to use to make it clear all registers which I suspect was missing in the BIOS' update script.

At any rate: it's EASY to do and safe so just do it rather than wonder if it might have helped.

Another option if your motherboard doesn't get in a boot-loop from not training memory is to find the Reset Default Settings once you get into BIOS screens. I'm just not sure that hits the settings that aren't exposed to a user.
 
Last edited:

gardenman

Distinguished
Moderator
I ran the dump file through the debugger and got the following information: https://jsfiddle.net/vwgbjdoy/show This link is for anyone wanting to help. You do not have to view it. It is safe to "run the fiddle" as the page asks.

File information:012422-9578-01.dmp (Jan 23 2022 - 19:43:45)
Bugcheck:WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR (124)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process running at time of crash: audiodg.exe)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 12 Hour(s), 50 Min(s), and 37 Sec(s)

This information can be used by others to help you. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
 
Jan 20, 2022
12
1
10
0
What is running usually isn't the problem. It can, however, point in a direction. Such as maybe the sound card, or sound card driver is the issue. See if there is an update for your Realtek audio driver.

Aug 17 2021RTKVHD64.sysRealtek Audio System driver https://www.realtek.com/en/
I ran out of patience and took it back to the shop i had build the machine for me. I forgot that I had warranty, and they swapped the CPU for me.

Plugged everything back in and testing now, no crashes yet but a few more days and we shall see.
 
Reactions: gardenman

ASK THE COMMUNITY