Windows 8 won't let me install apps.

taymarie22

Honorable
Dec 25, 2013
I'm still learning how to use my new Toshiba laptop with Windows8 built in. Every time I go to download an app from the store, it either says that it couldn't download the app because my PC "does not reach the minimal software requirements" or it'll say that something went wrong with the purchase and it couldn't install the app. An error code does pop up with the "bad purchase". The error code is : 0x800706ba

Solution

OK, we'll check out your Windows installation
First try System File Checker
Winkey plus 'X'
Choose Command Prompt (Admin)
Type sfc /scannow then Enter

Are you signed on with a Microsoft Account?

taymarie22

Honorable
Dec 25, 2013

yes

OK, we'll check out your Windows installation
First try System File Checker
Winkey plus 'X'
Choose Command Prompt (Admin)
Type sfc /scannow then Enter

Solution

Windows Key, between Fn and Alt...
q4t8.png

Can be used to access Start Screen... and many others

iluvhardware

Reputable
Apr 14, 2014
For anyone else with this, the solution was that the Temporary Internet Files folder was wrong in Internet Explorer. Run IE, go into Internet Options, click Settings in Browsing History section, click Move Folder and set to something valid like "c:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows".

danime

Reputable
Jul 28, 2014