[SOLVED] WoL Alexa Skill and WiFi wireless setup

Status
Not open for further replies.

icyulkn

Reputable
BANNED
Mar 4, 2019
I am trying to turn my computer on using a Amazon Alexa device.

Alexa Skill Info: https://www.wolskill.com/

Does anyone know if this Alexa skill will work over a wireless adapter such as the PCE-AX3000?

I have tried it on two wifi adapters and checked my bios and it won't turn on my computer. I believe I'm doing it correctly (I double checked the MAC addresses).

Is there a smart device section on Tomshardware also nowadays? I didn't see one.

Solution
I have a Z390 Aorus Master. Do you remember what the option in bios was called by any chance?
In BIOS, go here:
Advanced Mode > Settings > Miscellaneous

LEDs in System Power On State - Allows you to enable or disable motherboard LED lighting when the system is on.

LEDs in Sleep, Hibernation, and Soft Off States - Allows you to set the lighting mode of the motherboard LEDs in system S3/S4/S5 state.

This is specific to my board. No assurance that yours will have these options, though. Good luck.
Wake on wireless lan is almost stupid. Normal wake on lan keeps just the ethernet chip active so it is very low power. Wireless is much more complex and uses much more power. Unlike wake on lan it must constantly keep sending signal to the router so the wifi connection does not close. I am unsure if the CPU is actually off like it is in wake on lan. The sleep/suspend modes windows has use very little extra power compared to wake on lan and the machine is actually on just running very slowly so you can for example schedule software to run at certain times.

If you really want to do stuff like this I would use the options in the bios that boot as soon as the machine is powered on. You can then use one of those fancy power plugs that you can control with many things including alexa to turn the machine on, This tends to work much better than almost any other option.