Would my cpu display or even just start with a bad cpu cooler?

royal056

Reputable
Feb 22, 2017
I got a new cpu recently, but I used the stock cooler (i didnt know stock coolers werent very good at the time)
Anyway, I got everything plugged in and hooked up (including the new cpu and the fan the came with it). When I turned it on, it never displayed to my monitor. i realized that the cpu fan runs incredibly slow.
Is this the reason the computer wont display?
Also is it possible that my cpu is fried? Its an AMD FX 6300 if that helps.

if you couldnt tell already, im a new builder, so simple answers are more appreciated.
thanks!

Solution
Cpu coolers have only one thing that'll affect the boot of a pc, that's if there is or isn't something plugged into the cpu fan header. Technically you don't even need a cooler, just a fan plugged into the header, but reality being what it is, the cpu will overheat and shut down in short order.

The biggest issue with coolers is thermal past applications. If it's done incorrectly and far too much paste applied, it leaks out the edges and quite often bungs up the cpu pins causing all sorts of bad things to happen. If the new cooler came with factory applied paste, this won't be the issue.
It may simply be that in installing the new cooler, either you have unseated the ram/gpu and not properly reinstalled or accidentally unseated either.

Karadjgne

Titan
Ambassador
Cpu coolers have only one thing that'll affect the boot of a pc, that's if there is or isn't something plugged into the cpu fan header. Technically you don't even need a cooler, just a fan plugged into the header, but reality being what it is, the cpu will overheat and shut down in short order.