[SOLVED] Xeon E3-1290 v2 Questions

Oct 18, 2020
Hey. So long story short, I got my hands on an Xeon E3-1290 v2 recently, I'm currently running an i7-3770(non K) w/ 16GB of RAM on an MSI H61M-P32.

Doing some research, it looks like they use the same slot(LGA 1155) so the Xeon should be supported.

I had a couple questions since info on the 1290 V2 seems to be scarce online.
  1. Would the Xeon work with non-ECC memory? That's what I have installed.
  2. Would it be good for gaming? That's my primary use case. It looks like the Xeon has the same cores+threads just at higher clock(3.7 Ghz to 4.1 Ghz for the Xeon vs 3.5Ghz to 3.9Ghz for the Xeon).
  3. Is there anything I should look out for? I have no experience with server CPUs.

Solution
Hey. So long story short, I got my hands on an Xeon E3-1290 v2 recently, I'm currently running an i7-3770(non K) w/ 16GB of RAM on an MSI H61M-P32.

Doing some research, it looks like they use the same slot(LGA 1155) so the Xeon should be supported.

2. Would it be good for gaming? That's my primary use case. It looks like the Xeon has the same cores+threads just at higher clock(3.7 Ghz to 4.1 Ghz for the Xeon vs 3.5Ghz to 3.9Ghz for the Xeon).
  3. Is there anything I should look out for? I have no experience with server CPUs.
  1. Yes, the Xeon will work with non-ECC...

COLGeek

Cybernaut

1. Yes, the Xeon will work with non-ECC memory.
  2. Yes, the Xeon will game well. Very much like a similar i7.
  3. Not all motherboards are compatible with Xeon CPUs, in spite of using a Socket 1155.
From this link, the Xeon should be okay in your motherboard.

https://www.cpu-upgrade.com/mb-MSI/H61M-P32_W8.html#cs

Solution
Oct 18, 2020
  1. Yes, the Xeon will work with non-ECC memory.
  2. Yes, the Xeon will game well. Very much like a similar i7.
  3. Not all motherboards are compatible with Xeon CPUs, in spite of using a Socket 1155.
From this link, the Xeon should be okay in your motherboard.