XFX Radeon HD 6950 on sale - advice?

poguesquadron

Distinguished
May 24, 2011
APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Within the next couple of weeks, hopefully sooner rather than later

USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT:
Photoshop/Illustrator/Gaming

CURRENT GPU AND POWER SUPPLY:
n/a (build in progress, was looking at a 500w power supply)

OTHER RELEVANT SYSTEM SPECS:
Intel Core i5 2400k
Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3-B3 Motherboard
8GB 1600 Corsair Vengeance RAM (4x2GB)
Case - looking at the Antec 300

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Newegg, Micro Center (I have one very close by)

PARTS PREFERENCES: n/a

OVERCLOCKING: No

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: No (maybe really far down the line, like in a couple years)

MONITOR RESOLUTION: Hopefully 1920x1200...I have an IPS monitor that is 1920x1200 but it is not fast enough for gaming, so I'm looking into a similar size monitor with a faster response time (to have a dual monitor setup, one for gaming, one for artwork, as I am an illustrator)

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS:
There's a deal on Newegg for an XFX Radeon HD 6950 1GB right now, $210 after rebate.

I'm not familiar with XFX at all, but was thinking of picking it up. My budget is right around $200 so any thoughts would be appreciated. Have people had good experience with XFX? This is my first build, and I just want to make sure everything works okay.

Looking to get back into PC gaming (after this build, I'll practically have no incentive to get any single player games on 360 anymore, haha). I'm super excited about this. My budget is around $200, and the XFX Radeon 6950 at $210 is the best I've found for around that price range.

Also, my budget for the whole machine, minus monitor, is around $1000, and a $200ish graphics card fits into that perfectly.

Thanks in advance!

Helltech

Distinguished
The monitor you have is not "fast" enough for gaming? What do you mean? I'm sure it is...

That 6950 has been up for that price for a while. For a 200 dollar budget its a great card.