XGA or SXGA; does it make a difference?

digikid

Distinguished
Mar 17, 2002
I'm about to purchase a laptop, and I've found a nice one in Compaq's 920ca (Canadian version, 920us in the States?). It's got all I want, AMD2000, 512MB DDR, CD-RW/DVD, etc., but only an XGA display (15"). This means that the max. resolution is 1024x768, right? The screen one step up is the SXGA, with a max resolution of 1400x1050 (that's enough, I think; don't usually exceed that on my desktop).

Question: will I eventually get annoyed at the low XGA resolution and wished that I went for a higher end laptop with an SXGA screen, perhaps an IBM or a Dell? I'm quite fond of desktop real-estate, being used to Linux and multiple desktops...

Thanks for your input!

:lol: <b><font color=blue>gnintsakgnirkskir ksron</font color=blue></b> :lol:

casiowatch

Distinguished
Jul 26, 2002
I'm not an expert, but I think once you go higher resolution, each of the icons, well everything, becomes smaller. If you try it on your desktop you'll see what i mean.

For laptops, it depends on what you like. Go to some stores and ask them to show you the different resolutions: XGA, SXGA, UltraXGA and such. I found out that the XGA, which is 1024x768 (for a 14.4" screen) offered an aesthetically pleasing visual environment. I have the compaq 700us (united states, ca is Canadian like you said).

All i can say is ask and take some notes. Usually the UXGA is too much for some people, and 1024x768 is just right for them, but don't take my word for it. But remember, take into consideration the size of the screen. If your getting a big screen, go for a higher resolution. As for getting annoyed, unless your switching from a higher resolution (desktop) to lower resolution (laptop) frequency, there shouldn't be any annoyance. Buf if you do, you'll most certainly be thinking the 1024x768 is blurry while higher resolution is clearer. Happened to me, got used to it.