[SOLVED] Your Opinion on My Budget Gaming Build

Jul 8, 2020
Dear All ya Builders out there,

I just completed an important project and wanted to treat myself with a self-build a gaming PC. I have zero experience building a PC so I just use the "How to Ask for New Build or Upgrade Advice" format:

Approximate Purchase Date: In the next 14 days.

Budget Range: up to 600 CHF after shipping. (I already have the GPU)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: gaming, office work, programming, and a little bit of multimedia applications

Are you buying a monitor: No

Parts to Upgrade: Fresh build with the following components: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/KYMr8J

I've already got the GPU, so that one's fixed.

Do you need to buy OS: No

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: digitec.ch

Parts Preferences: AMD Processor, nvidia GPU

Overclocking: Maybe

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe

Your Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080

Why Are You Upgrading: First Build after only Gaming with a bad Laptop

I am very grateful if someone with experience could give me some advice if my hardware choices are fine, if some parts are bottlenecks or why over-designed.

Thank you for reading and your time.

Solution
For a 1080p gaming experience it will hold nicely, everything is in the low-tier budget range so I assume you won't be gaming that often, but when you do this setup should be able to hold it's own no problem.
My only concerns are that you have 1 8GB RAM stick. That's a big-no-no in the gaming/PC DIY world. You get most performance when you have 2 sticks (this gives you dual channel performance) which will greatly improve data throughput of your RAM. So get 1 more 8GB, it'd help you when using Windows as well since Windows uses 2GB straight from the get-go.
My next concern is the CPU cooler, the 3600 won't get super hot but the stock fan it comes with will be lacking when push-comes to shove. I don't see you doing much overclocking with...

TommyTwoTone66

Prominent
BANNED
Apr 24, 2021