Question Best Smart TV Brand/system to play media files via usb

Apr 8, 2024
Hi all!

For years i used a Samsung TV, and played many media files via usb, and rarely i add a incompatible file.

Recently bought a Hisense Smart Tv, and only the original firmware doens't give me trouble. After any update, the tv will play some videos and other wont (same audio/video codecs).

Since thats the biggest use for me, i ask what are the brands that not only read all files, but keep reading after software updates?

Thanks!

i ask what are the brands that not only read all files, but keep reading after software updates?
i don't think there is any "best brand" for these types of purposes.

if the displays you're shopping for don't include a list of compatible audio/video codecs
or any definitive data related to their included media player software
contact the manufacturer directly and get that information from their support staff.

i've been using an LG CX for quite a few years now and have zero problem playing media content from my external drives or flash drives with many different types of video files(mp4, avi, mkv, etc).
sometimes it will produce an error message stating that audio playback is not available for a certain file but always ends up playing properly anyway.

i have a slightly older LG that will not play any x265(HEVC) media, only x264.
and an even older Samsung that will only play some mp4 video files, nothing else.

Last edited:

NedSmelly

Prominent
Feb 11, 2024
I've used Samsung and LG smart TVs for looping video displays off a USB stick with reasonable success, but they were all older models. But they all have their quirks. e.g. some won't remove the OSD when a frame is paused, and (like yourself) some codecs weren't being read.

I ended up using a dedicated media player to make things more reliable (Raspberry Pi or mini PC).

Hi all!

For years i used a Samsung TV, and played many media files via usb, and rarely i add a incompatible file.