Status
Not open for further replies.

xXCrossfireXx

Reputable
Jan 16, 2016
So here's my scenario:

• I want my chip to overclock to 4.7 GHz

I want at LEAST 5 years out of this chip

• My PC isn't on 24/7. It'll be on 4 hours maximum week days, possibly more on weekends at most for daily use, unless I leave it on once in a while to render/video edit

• I have an NH-D15 cooler

• I plan to do some gaming, and some video editing

So far my chip is at 1.365 volts, and it couldn't survive Prime95 @ 4.7 GHz for 30 minutes. So I definitely want to bump up the voltage to stable it out. But is 1.4 volts safe for what I plan to use this PC for?

Solution
I've been offline for a while, just checked in...

I'm going to have to ask for your help to expand on that a little. I'm no expert, but I've done a bunch of overclocking and followed numbers of different guides over the years. I've never, ever seen anything referring to testing the "audio system load." RE "video system load", of course graphics stress testing is important if you're OCing the graphics card, but this a CPU overclock he's talking about. If there's something I (and OP) are missing here, please would you link a guide, article or explanation so we can learn.

That is more voltage than I use to overclock my...
That NH-D15 you've got is at least as effective as most liquid coolers on the market.

4.7Ghz is around about the upper limit for plenty of 4790Ks though. I'd really question the value of going to such a high voltage for such a small performance gain. What voltage did (or do?) you need for 4.6Ghz? Usually once you approach the limit you start needing massive jumps in voltage for tiny jumps in frequency. That's usually where it's best to stop. There's 2% difference between 4.6 & 4.7 -> worth that much extra voltage?