$1250 Build "Dire Wolf"

mjm196

Reputable
Mar 6, 2015
Hello and thank you for viewing my first post here on toms-hardware!
Along with my first post, this will also be my first attempt to build my own computer.
After extensive searching and analyzing, here are the components I am looking to purchase.

1.) CPU: Intel Core i5-4690K
2.) FAN: CM Hyper 212 EVO
3.) MOBO: MSI Z97 PC MATE
4.) GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 980
5.) RAM: Crucial Ballistix 8GB
6.) SSD: Crucial MX100 128GB
7.) HDD: Western Digital Blue 1 TB
8.) CASE: Cooler Master HAF 912
9.) PSU: XFX Core Edition PRO550W
10.) ODD: Asus 24x DVD-RW

Now to the fun part, as a first time builder my questions may be somewhere out in left field so please bare with me!

- Will this build work and what can I expect from this build in terms of updating components and performance?
- Is there a case other than the one I have listed that is more visually appealing while keeping optimal case performance?
- I am in need of a good monitor, preferably 24", and I have no idea what I'm looking for.
- For some reason I think I am missing a power supply.
- Should I go with Windows 7 or 8 for gaming?
- I'm going to either have to use a wireless network card or usb, any suggestions?

I'm sure there are some things I've not taken into consideration so all enlightening is welcomed and greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Benab3

Reputable
Jan 12, 2015
Yes that build will work and performance nice. On an upgrading note further down the line, you can change your cpu to something like an i7 4790k but if you ever want to sli your gpus for maybe when a 980 isn't so top line you need a different mobo, I quite like the ASUS z97-A, if you never want to sli and you just want to get a better card, then keep this. IN your parts list your not missing a psu and on the windows note its personal preference really, I'm not a massive fan of windows 8 so I use 7. If you like 8 then go for 8.