[SOLVED] 128 Mb vram

Navimon

Reputable
Feb 16, 2021
Hello,
I am not that good at computer thingies but my question is
i just got an i5 6600 with HD 530

when i run the benchmark on system requirements lab it said it only has 128 vram and i cant even run any game
but when i looked at youtube reviews for i5 6600 with hd 530 i saw a gta 5 review and it runs 20-30 fps and thats fine for me
but on the system req lab is shows i cant even run the minimum settings cuz i only have 128mb vram and i need 512mb vram.

can anybody explain what is vram and what does it do on gaming and should i increase my vram or wut and how do i increase it

TY for the time

Solution
Hello,

when i run the benchmark on system requirements lab it said it only has 128 vram and i cant even run any game
but when i looked at youtube reviews for i5 6600 with hd 530 i saw a gta 5 review and it runs 20-30 fps and thats fine for me
but on the system req lab is shows i cant even run the minimum settings cuz i only have 128mb vram and i need 512mb vram.

can anybody explain what is vram and what does it do on gaming and should i increase my vram or wut and how do i increase it

TY for the time

The layman's explanation is that VRAM is just the RAM that the GPU uses for video data.

You don't actually have a set amount of VRAM...

Scutu Mix

Distinguished
Mar 26, 2015
www.scutustudios.com
VRAM = Video Random Acces Memory. Is pretty much the RAM of your video card - which can't be increased as you increase your system memory RAM. So you better ge a video card that has more VRAM or resume to basic old games.

For $50 - $100 you can get a used video card on ebay or local (depending where you live) with 1 - 2 Gb of VRAM and be able to play the GTA5 at better fps and higher quality...

The on-board cards are not really any good other than being the minimum necessary when running a web browser or listening some music... :)

Good luck with your upgrade!

Reactions: Navimon
Have you tried running a game?