Question 2 of 4 bad RAM slots?

Aug 17, 2021
Hello everyone. I have little to no experience with pc's, yet with the help of a friend, we managed to put one together.
The Mobo is fairly old, smth like a Dell Optiplex or similar.
We have installed a GTX 1050 ti, with an i5 2600k CPU.
At the time of the build, we installed 2x4 GB Ram memory, but the mobo has 4 slots. Recently i have bought 2x2 GB more, because, well...12 is more than 8, i guess.
Now comes the issue. When i install any of the 2 (or both) sticks in the remaining 2 slots, the pc visibly turns on, i can hear the fans spinning and i can see the RBG light up, yet i have no display signal, nor do my mouse and keyboard receive any power.
I ran a power usage calculator, and, in theory, the components i have, will never use the 500w of power that the PSU provides, and i know the RAM sticks are good, because they work fine if i install them in the 2 other slots.
Any ideas appreciated. Thanks

OEM systems can be finicky with RAM compatibility.

Adding RAM to your system would NOT impart a power draw increase that would cause issues. RAM uses so very little power it's comparatively negligible.

What component(s) is the RGB lighting on? Not the RAM I presume.

Aug 17, 2021
I googled for a bit and found the exact mobo, it's an optiplex 790 sff (small form factor) but even so, the manual sais that it supports up to 16gb RAM and a max of 4gb/slot. I've put the ram in correct config aswell, A1 and B1 4x2 GB, A2 and B2, 2x2GB, and it still won't boot, yet when i just populate A1 with a 4GB and A2 with the 2GB one, it boots as normal and task manager recognises the 6GB with no issue...
I'm starting to believe that B slots are broken in some way or another, or the dual channel has some issues...

Try moving that 4gb/2gb test set to the B-slots. It should still boot. If it doesn't, then you might be right about the B-slots, but we can diagnose it even more.