2018 Architecture PC Build

RupertL

Commendable
Mar 22, 2017
Hi Everyone,

I'm a 3rd year architecture student in Australia looking to setup a pc rig to make my life a lot easier. I've been trying to read through different recommendations (eg Revit GPU recommendations, etc.) but thus far have been confused by how varying all the different resources are in opinion.

I want it for programs such as Revit 2018, Photoshop, AutoCAD and the like. My budget is around $1000-1500 AUD (about 750-1250 USD). I already have peripherals (ie. keyboard, mouse & monitor), and intend to stay working at 1080p for now with the potential of upgrading in the future. I don't play any video games and don't intend to in the future.

I'm currently using a 2017 Macbook Pro but would prefer additional speed provided by a PC.

In my own efforts to find the right build I've found conflicting statements regarding the right CPU/GPU with most recommendations suggesting a faster single core (Intel) over number of cores (AMD). Because of this I was thinking of using an 7700k/8700k, unless a high tier AMD would be better. (Xeon cores also seem popular but I'm less sure on using those). I'll obviously need at least 16gb ram and will use an XMP ready build so I can oc to 3000mhz. The other key issue is graphics card, Revit recommends Quadros and the like (as I expected) but most user reviews put whatever was at the time the top running gaming gpu (970, 1070 etc.) ahead

(link to Revit https://knowledge.autodesk.com/certified-graphics-hardware)

Because of this conflicting information it's been difficult to make a decision so I'd really appreciate advice from other people that have dealt with similar problems or that are just generally good at this kind of thing.

I already own a copy of Win 10, a pc case, case fans, and a CPU cooler.

Thanks,
Rupert

Solution
So, I'm going to turn a number of ideas upside down for my build here: https://au.pcpartpicker.com/list/gsDyxG