5 (yes five) FPS in GTA V with Asus GTX 1070 Strix OC?? Whattt?

Jerutastic

Reputable
Nov 8, 2016
Hello all,

I need all your help on this one because it is literally blowing my mind away, I built my computer 8 days ago, 2 days ago I decided to return the Zotac GTX 1060 6gb for the Asus GTX 1070 Strix 8GB OC, I havent played anything on it yet.

So I go to my GTA V settings, I do the settings moderately, some very high, some ultra, all in all my MB usage in GTA V is 4.400 MB out of 8000.

I just started playing, next thing I know (about 2-3 minutes in) my FPS goes to 5...yes ladies and gentleman, FIVE :kaola: what in the world is going on?

I said 'No, this cant be, my weak GT 740 (in my old build) used to get at least 50 FPS, this card has to easily get at least 60FPS, so I restarted my computer and went at it again....but still the same issue, after 2-3 minutes of playing the FPS drops to 5.

I monitored everything, the GPU temp is stable (no higher than 61 C) the CPU temps are stable (no higher than 40-45 C), even when I press the windows key to do something else my mouse moves smoothly, but as soon as I go back to GTA V it starts going horribly slow. I have no idea what is going on.

Also, when I watch YouTube, or just randomly browse my computer everything is running fine and smooth, its just whenever I go into GTA V, and couple of days ago on the previous GTX 1060 that I had GTA V was easily surpassing 60FPS.

How can the Asus GTX 1070 Strix and OC edition not handle GTA V on moderate settings? Something has to be wrong and this is why I am asking all of you to please give me your suggestions of what possibly could be happening.

In case you are wondering, no I havent Overclocked anything on the card, and I am monitoring all the temps and usage via GPU Tweak II software and HWMonitor.

All drivers are up to date!!!

Please help me!

Specs:

- Windows 10 64 Bit
- 16 GB RAM (DDR4)
- i5 6600K 3.50 GHz
- Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-H170-GAMING 3 1151 ATX