8800 gtx SLI - jerky scrolling .. noob needs help please!

psyman72

Distinguished
Apr 26, 2008
Hey all - Hope someone can help?! I'm a bit of a noob so I should apologise up front! :pt1cable:

I just bought a new system with an Asus P5N-T Deluxe mobo, Q6700 2.6mhz quad core and 2 x 8800 gtx's running in SLI.

Whilst I'm delighted with the overall performance, and it plays games like CoD4 and crysis like a dream, I'v noticed that the gfx on some games are really jerky. In fact sideways scrolling (using the mouse on the edge of the screen) is so bad on games like Settlers 6 Rise of the Empire (yeah, I know, don't mock - it's hardly a high end game!) that it's practically unplayable. It's kind of like it's sticking if you get what I mean.......

I've checked various forums and the game manufacturers sites but can't find anything to help.

I've tried the obvious things like turning the graphics settings down (not that I should have to do that given the machine spec), run it out of SLI mode on just the one gfx card, and updated the gfx driver to latest version etc but nothing seems to cure it. CIV4 is another example where the sideways scrolling just isn't smooth. Bizarrely CIV4 scrolls better on my old P4 2.6 with an old Radeon 9600!

Does anyone have a clue what's up? It doesn't make sense to me. Is it a software or hardware issue? Is there a setting somewhere I just need to tweak?

I updated to the latest bios version recently as well but the problem existed before I did that. It's really bugging me so any help that could be offered would be much appreciated!

Thanks!

monst0r

Distinguished
Mar 31, 2007
Try vsync yet? It's possible that your getting too many FPS (vsync caps it to your refresh rate). Sorry if this doesn't help, but I'm not familiar with those games and their looks :( Could you try explaining the problem in a little more depth? Does it look like the image is tearing in half or more like it's stuttering?

MayDay94

Distinguished
Aug 8, 2006