A Good Single-Radiator AOI Liquid Cooler For Ryzen 5 2600?

jwburks1976

Distinguished
Sep 23, 2010
I've never used liquid before, and I've been paranoid about doing so. But... times change.

Story About PC Death (You Can Skip):
Recently, my old PC I built back in 2011 (my first, actually) has begun to die. After the last Windows 10 update, I tried to go back to gaming. All my games were freezing and I was forced to hard-reset using the power switch. Upon rebooting, Windows would randomly freeze up entirely which would also require using the power switch. This freaked me out. At first I blamed the Windows update, or just Windows 10 in general. I tried re-installing Windows 10 several times, and everything would be great until I played a game for about 1-2 hours. I've tested the RAM, the storage, ran a boot scan for viruses, everything: nothing is wrong. But then I got HWMONITOR and saw my CPU cores idling between 40-50 C.
Maybe that's not it, maybe it's something else, like the PSU. I have a 850 Corsair (Gold), but... I don't know.

Anyway, I think it's time to give this poor guy a proper burial...

So here I am, shopping for parts, fighting off the freeze-ups now and then.

TLDR Pick Up Here:

For the past 2 days I've decided on a Ryzen 5 2600. It's definitely better than my old CPU (i7-950). I could go with a stock cooler, or air. I've been spoiled by NOCTUA up until now. I think it's time to try liquid.

I was going to go with the H100i Pro, but the dual fan radiator doesn't fit into most mid-sized cases, and I don't want to go full-size on the tower.

I don't know just how reliable these things are, either. I used to see stories about leaks and total destruction of the PC. But then, bad luck can happen in all forms. What I need is a RELIABLE device by a reliable manufacturer, and one with a single fan that will fit an AM4 out-of-box.

Can anybody help?

Solution