A newb desperate for help on building a new comp!

MegaCharger

Distinguished
Mar 19, 2003
Yeah... it's me again :( I just went to the local comp store and the guy said "WTF you want P4 3.0Ghz(800Mhz FSB) and Radeon 9800 Pro in your PC!? That's gonna cost you 3000+ man!" I was like, what the f**k!? I can get all the parts for under 2000 online... Anyways, after that I decided to screw computer stores and, I might as well just try to build it myself. That being said, I'm a complete newb when it comes to PC building, so if anybody have any advice for me it's welcome! I plan to get the following, after May 11, that's when Intel will lower the chip prices:

-Intel Pentium 4 3.0Ghz 800Mhz FSB and HT
-Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB
-Gigabyte 8KNXP(non ultra) or the Asus P4C800 motherboard
-Corsaid XML DDR400 512MB x 2, I'm not sure what model to get yet because I'm completely thrown off by the number of models they have...
-WD ATA/100 120GB special edition
-Antec PLUS1080AMG case that comes with TruePower 430W
-SB Audigy 2
-LiteOn 16X DVD Drive and 48x24x48 CD-RW

I have my old speaker and monitor and DSL modem, maybe I should get a new ethernet card as well. Did I miss anything? Do you think I can really get all of those for under $2000? I am going to order the parts through newegg, so far almost everyone I've met say I should get it from them. But my parents are VERY paranoid about me using their credit card online, so I want to make absolutely sure they are not going to pull some BS on me... Should I trust them?

Oh yeah to the experienced people here who feel like helping me out, can you direct me to any link or tell me in depth on how to build my own PC step by step? Thanks!

dhlucke

Polypheme