[SOLVED] Advice For Home Structured Media Enclosure / Server Closet

Pyneappel

Honorable
May 28, 2016
In the process of finishing a basement of a 3-year old home. House doesn't currently have much media wiring, but the currently unfinished basement makes fishing wires to most places of the finished space relatively easy. There will be a 6ft x 10ft server closet and in that room I've asked them to put in low voltage structured media enclosure.

I probably don't need a server closet, but I don't really like computer fan noise, so I'd like to keep them in a separate room. My background is mainly software development, but I'll get a small 42-inch rack and build a rack mount NAS and experiment with some other rack hardware. I'm not mining bitcoin or chia. The house doesn't have or need a fancy security system, but I do have a wifi-connected doorbell and a few cameras. I don't foresee needing to have them hard-wired.

I've asked the electrician to run two separate cat6e cables and one RG6 coax to 8 wall plates around the house. This will give me 16 wires coming into the SMC. Fiber was also recently added to the neighborhood, so the wire for that will also come into the SMC and I guess the ONT would be mounted there. Finally the coax in from the cable company I assume would also be routed through the SMC.

My questions are;

1 Does anyone care about RJ11 and/or POTS these days? There is only one phone jack in the house and I don't think it is even connected outside.

2 Is here any other wiring I should consider running while the walls are open? Or anything in general that should be thought about/checked/verified re infrastructure in regards to an SMC or server closet? EG, I think I asked him to run the wires from where they come in from the outside to the SMC through a conduit, but I'm not sure he did that. (I'm aware I need to consider A/C and protect against water damage. The outlets are raised about 4 ft off the floor).