Advice on home server build

chodie_foster

Commendable
Feb 13, 2017
Please bear with me because I am a complete novice when it comes to this, not even sure if this is the right category to post this but here goes.

I built a gaming pc a couple years back and it has a 1TB ssd in it. Started downloading movies n show and installed Plex, now the drive is getting full so I want to expand.

Originally I was looking at buying a nas from QNAP or Synology and putting my Plex server on there, but the more I read the more conflicted I became and thought I should do something else.

So I’ve decided I’d like to build a home server to do the following things:
-media server to run Plex or Kodi
-function as my nas
-be my download station, so I can just leave vpn running on it and download whatever I want without having to use my other pc. Currently I only run vpn when I’m downloading because, 1) it’s much slower and 2) certain sites won’t allow me access. I use PIA

So here I am, not sure what I do or don’t need, tried looking at the other million forums about server builds but don’t know enough to know which parts pertain to what I need. I’m hoping I can get some advice on what type of hardware I should use and softwaware as well, os etc should I get a MoBo with two nics to double the speed of data transfer...does my switch support that...do I even need it. Will I be able to leave vpn running on it and still be allowed to share data with other devices on the network not running vpn.