Alternative to ethernet cables for gaming?

ZigglePuff

Distinguished
Aug 10, 2012
I have been using a wireless card for over 3 months and have not seen any good things from it. I started noticing its lack in power when i was playing the newest in massive online games that require alot of wifi access, but my card wasnt meeting with the demand.
I have hooked up an ethernet cable to my computer, and worked flawlessly. getting about a 27-30mbps for a download speed, but only a 4.17mbps without.
Problem solved, right? not even close
the problem is, my father does not want a 50 ft cable running through the house to the computer, plus; it is impossible due to the structure in the walls. (said parts were concrete) I am out of ideas, and i cant stand playing and getting a "no message recieved" or suddenly bieng disconnected from a game.
I have heard of a device called a Gaming adapter/wireless ethernet bridge from an article that i read on this site;
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/41136-43-good-desktop-wireless-adapter

I really dont know much about them and dont know how they will fix this problem, but it seems promising
plus i could not find an easy explanation on how it is a good alternative for my issue.

PS:
I cannot move my PC closer due to lack of space
Walls are concrete, cannot run an ethernet cable from the router
And i cannot buy a very expensive device, it has to be reliable and cheap.
also, will this Wireless bridge be the same if not better than a traditional ethernet cable?

Thank you for all who responded

G

i agree with lycros. If you cannot run ethernet from where the cable modem is to where your pc is, and if you cannot move the cable modem to where your PC is, then ethernet over power line is your best bet, and should have lower latency than wireless.

ZigglePuff

Distinguished
Aug 10, 2012

so surely no other option is equal or even better to my approximate 26mbps ethernet cable download speed over the 4mbps wireless?