Question AMD Threadripper Chipsets – Do they come with built-in RAID?

WhityKnight

Prominent
Mar 10, 2023
INTEL chipsets come with Intel Rapid Storage Technology RAID drivers. So, provided there are enough drives installed, RAID is available right away.

Is the same available for AMD CPUs (i.e. their chipsets and motherboards)? If so, what's its brand name?

kanewolf

Titan
Thanks for enlightening me!

Strange: IRST appears in the BIOS (UEFI) an is activated in the BIOS setup. Yet, it's software based?
The BIOS is software just permanently written to PROM.
One of the biggest benefits of hardware RAID is the ASIC chips that do the parity calculations. And there are very few situations where RAID is a recommended implementation for home users.

Last edited:
Reactions: WhityKnight

WhityKnight

Prominent
Mar 10, 2023
I'm a software engineer, working with laptops and without permanent Internet access, containing business vital information. And I do want to spare me the burdon of doing daily backups. That's not within my available timeframe.

All my machines are using RAID 1. I'm equipping them with three or more SSDs, so I'll be kept safe from every kind of hardware failure. (Although that didn't exactly work with IRST since they switched from a Windows application to an UWP app)

Last edited:

USAFRet

Titan
I'm a software engineer, working with laptops and without permanent Internet access. And do want to spare me the burdon of doing daily backups. That's not within my available timeframe.
Automation.

My main system backs up each of its 6 drives every night.
Between the hours of 0200 and 0600.

Takes exactly 0.0 seconds out of my day to do this backup.

So your 'RAID' was to be some sort of backup thing?
That's not the way it works.

Any sort of RAID (barring RAID 0) is only for physical drive fail.
It does nothing for all the other forms of data loss.

Reactions: COLGeek

WhityKnight

Prominent
Mar 10, 2023