Another CPU swap question. Mobile to Desktop

CathyName

Reputable
Jun 19, 2014
Is it possible (not practical lol) to install an AMD Turion X2 Mobile CPU into a Dell XPS 710 Desktop [ Intel Core 2 ]??
And please, FACTS, not opinions.
Thank you.

D

Deleted member 217926

Possible? I suppose, as long as you are ok with swapping out the motherboard, CPU and memory of the desktop with the mobile counterparts and then finding a way to use a laptops power supply in a desktop. Someone wanting a huge modding project could do it but it would be challenging.

CathyName

Reputable
Jun 19, 2014
I figured it was a long shot! lol. So OBVIOUSLY Im a PC newb. I just had some old laptops laying around. Anyway, is this dinosaur of a desktop even worth upgrading?
Here's my delimah. ....
I ONLY use this pc to play Custom Zombies on C.O.D. World at War. I'm a huge Nazi Zombies fan and being that they (Treyarch) hasn't made, and won't be making any new content for quite a while, Im left with playing "custom" maps on the pc version of the game.
Keep in mind I had nothing needed to play this but the desire! lol. After doing not enough research, lol, I bought what I thought was a good deal. Paid $175 For the pc and came with k.b./mouse, monitor, fresh Windows 7 install, 2 hard drives, a 1,000 watt (dont ask) overkill psu, 6gb RAM, upgraded fan, usb 3.0 card, Geforce 7900GS GPU (dual monitor), all in a tower that's as tall and heavy as my 13yr old. Needless to say, it fails at running my game. Typical FPS and SUPER high ping problems. What I don't get, is why is it that if this old, "gaming monster" came out around the same time as the game I'm playing (old technology) and was allegedly enough to play most games enjoyably on at least medium settings, why does it fail so hard!? I don't have the extra $ to buy a new pc and not sure if it's practical or possible start upgrading this p.o.s.??

USAFRet

Titan