Build Advice Any overkill or bottlenecks for data processing rig

May 30, 2019
Hello. Thank you for taking the time to read this.

This is my first build and I am not very knowledgeable of hardware.

I would like to build a machine that can handle about 4 VMs and can be used for intensive data processing. The machine will not be used for games or video editing. Only using 1 monitor mostly, maybe 2 at most.

Here is what I am considering so far:

CPU: Intel i5 9600k
MB: MSI MPG Z390 Gaming Plus
RAM: Samsung 32G DDR4 2666Mhz (16 x2)
Graphics: Intel HD Graphics 610 (Do I need something better? This is the default with the box.)
SSD: Samsung M.2 970EVO Plus (500G x 2) (May opt for just one and use external drive for storage)
PSU: Antec EAG PRO 750W 80+ Gold
Cooler: DEEPCOOL GAMMAXX 300 FURY
Monitor: LG 24inch

This machine is not for games, but since the processing could be very intensive, I choose a CPU and MB with game specifications. Is the RAM speed sufficient? Do I need to go with G.Skill 3200Mhz? Probably won't need to overclock much if any, but with multiple VM instances running, I want to get the best performance as possible.

Since VMs can't access the graphics card anyway, I was thinking the standard HD Graphics 610 card will be enough. However, will having this graphics card degrade the performance of the other hardware?

I think there might be some overkill in my setup, but I am mostly concerned about bottlenecks, like the graphics card issue.

The setup above in usd would be about 1350. Would like to keep it below 1500.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Last edited by a moderator:
May 30, 2019
For VMs and data processing, an i7 with hyperthreading can be beneficial. A 750W power supply is not required. A 500W would be plenty.