Question ASUS M5A99X EVO R2.0 RAM configuration

Status
Not open for further replies.

graveller39

Honorable
Jun 30, 2019
I'm pretty much a complete novice when it comes to RAM configuration, but I'm hoping someone can either confirm I've got things right or offer some suggestions for my setup.

I put together my system a few years back and have had no real issues, but I recently stumbled on the fact that my RAM has been running at 1333MHz as opposed to its rated speed of 1866MHz - I realize (now) this is normal, but I'd like to get the best performance I can reasonably achieve, bearing in mind that stability and reliability are still the priority.

This is what I've got:
ASUS M5A99X EVO R2.0
ASUS HD7750-1GD5-V2
AMD FX-8350
2x8GB G. Skill Sniper F3-1866C9-8GSR
SanDisk SSDSXPS240G
Windows 7 Pro
Several other internal & external HDDs for storage

I'm not a gamer and don't likely need or want to overclock the system - I use my PC primarily for music and photo editing and occasionally video editing and of course browsing.

So, after reading various posts here and elsewhere, I've changed the Ai Overclock Tuner from 'Auto' to 'D.O.C.P.' in the BIOS and tried both Profile 0 and Profile 1. Both profiles bump the RAM speed up to 1866 and change the timings to their rated values. Its not clear what the difference is between the two profiles - maybe some of the more advanced RAM settings?

I've left everything else on 'Auto' or its default setting. Is this sufficient? Or should I be tweaking any voltages or other settings? The system appears to be stable, although I've done no testing and not much real "work" yet either.

Any thoughts or suggestions are most welcome.

Solution