Best Solution for Backing up a NAS

cuzed2

Prominent
Jan 23, 2018
I am planning to put approximately 10Tb of movie and music media on to a 4- bay NAS (with 4 x 4Tb Red drives) configured as RAID5 or RAID10.

I have been advised that I should have one additional level of backup should the NAS box become problematic. With these RAID configurations I don't understand the need for another layer of backup? Or perhaps the need for this add'l layer of back-up varies with the brand of NAS that is selected?

I'm a newbie to NAS and networking, and welcome all suggestions

Solution
As stated above, RAID only allows you to keep accessing the data even if a disk fails. It doesn't prevent you from accidentally deleting or overwriting a file, or ransomware from encrypting all your files.

My NAS is the same size as yours. Due to the largest HDD on the market at the time being 8 TB, I bought a cheap RAID box by Sans Digital so I could use multiple drives to backup my NAS. Several other companies make them too, but you're not going to be using it as RAID so there's little point paying too much for it. The Sans Digital one has a JBOD mode, which makes all the drives you put into it appear as one big drive, but doesn't split the data up across each drive like RAID 0 does. It just stores the data sequentially on each...

kanewolf

Titan
RAID only protects from disk failure. Data can be lost for lots of reasons. If you accidentally delete a file RAID offers no protection. Backups provide protection from multiple types of data loss. If you have a fire, RAID and on-site backups may not protect. Off-site backups for truely critical data (like home movies) should be included in your disaster planning.

You have to decide what the tolerance for loss. Is it inconvenient because you have to re-rip a DVD or is it irreplaceable because it was a single copy of a home movie.

USAFRet

Titan
MERGED QUESTION
Question from cuzed2 : "10~12 TB data drive on an older DELL XPS-7100"

Jwpanz

Honorable