Black screen during high-demand gaming - motherboard or power supply issue?

schottebwm

Prominent
Dec 1, 2017
My problem is that my computer goes dead during high-demand gaming. Specifically, I hear the fans stop and my screen goes black and then gives me a "no signal" message. I then have to reboot.

Here is my current system:

MSI Gaming 970 Gaming AM3+/AM3 motherboard
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0 GHz Socket AM3+ 125W Processor
XFX Radeon RX 580 8GB 256-Bit DDR5 PCI Express 3.0 Video Card
24 gb DDR3 RAM
Mushkin Enhanced Reactor 2.5" 1TB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
800W 12V ATX Power Supply
LG 24MP59G 23.8" Full HD Black IPS FreeSync Gaming Monitor
Windows 10

I should mention I am a very amateur pc builder, having only done a few upgrades in my life.

I recently upgraded from an older Samsung monitor, a Geforce GTU ASUS 1gb graphics card, and an AMD Athlon II 4-core processor.

The problem of the computer blacking out has been occurring since I bought the MSI MoBo, power supply, and a SAPPHIRE NITRO+ Radeon RX 470 8 gb video card in the fall of 2016. I was under the assumption the the SAPPHIRE card was failing due to bad cooling, and many reviews that came out after my purchase of this said as much. I stuck my 1gb Geforce back in and the problem went away (although performance suffered, obviously).

After I sent the SAPPHIRE back in and got a replacement and installed it, the problem kept occurring. I gave the card to a friend of mine who was able to get it to work for him. Not wanting to struggle again, I decided I'd buy a newer card and monitor. I got the new LG monitor and Radeon RX 580 a few days ago, maxed out Star Citizen beautifully for a total of 2 minutes, and again, the monitor turned off and the pc was unresponsive.

I've been monitoring temps with HW monitor on all the different graphics cards I've described, and it never gets above the mid 70Cs, so i dont think it is a heat issue.