Boosting Internet Bandwidth

rrieder

Prominent
Oct 29, 2017
I recently purchased a Liinksys Smart Wi-Fi router so I have a dual band router. As I understand it, once I get the Linksys connected to my ATT router, I need to disable my ATT router then turn on my Linksys router. This should give me better bandwidth within my house. But I can't find how to disable the ATT router. Hope I explained that right...can you help?

Solution

Powerline devices.
Cat5e from the router to the powerline device at the wall plug.
Powerline pumps the signal through the house wiring
A second powerline device converts that signal back out into a Cat5e signal. A PC or Xbox plugs into this. Or a switch and multiple devices. Some of them also pump out WiFi at that remote location.

Like this:
https://www.amazon.com/TRENDnet-Everywhere-Powerline-Dual-Band-TPL-430APK/dp/B01FXDVIHC

I have no personal experience, but this type of thing.
AV1200 is the spec you should be looking for.

USAFRet

Titan

You can't assume that the Linksys will automagically give you better bandwidth between your systems and the router.

What specific AT&T router is it?
What bandwidth do you pay for?
What bandwidth do you get with a system wired directly to the router?
What bandwidth do you get WiFi to the router?
How many systems are connected to the AT&T router currently?

rrieder

Prominent
Oct 29, 2017
All it says is ATT Uverse. I'm paying for 40mg. Depending on time of day, I get like 24-40mg. I haven't wired directly to the router. Right now we have 2 phones, 2 tablets, a laptop, a smartTV and an Amazon Fire.
I am thinking about adding some security cameras to the network and want to be able to cover the entire 22 Sq ft house with consistent bandwidth coverage if I can. I asked about the devices you plug into outlets but was told that will reduce my bandwidth and it was suggested to go with the Linksys.

USAFRet

Titan

If you're already getting "24-40mbps" from the existing, another router won't help much.