Question BSOD ntoskrnl..exe

Nov 30, 2019
10
0
10
0
My computer has crashed a few times often when i play games. I bought more ram because i thought that it was the issue but it didn't help. It did work a few days but then the crashes came back. Before i had two 4GB sticks. After that i fixed the BSOD´s by lowering the graphics and the resolution on the games. I have had the bad graphics for a while and i got tired of it. I know that my computer can handle better graphics so i thougt that i might try to fix this issue . I found that the Ntoskrnl.exe was the problem. I looked around on the internet for sollutions but it didn't fix it. That is why i am asking you guys for help. I dont know i if my specs matter but they are down below just in case. (Sorry if my English was bad)

Specs:
CPU:Intel Core i5 7400
Motherboard: AsusTek Computer INC. Model: G11CD-K
RAM: DDR4 two sticks with 8GB
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB

MiniDump:
https://we.tl/t-GnnUISDRQS

MiniDump Picture
View: https://imgur.com/a/wmcxFv2
 
Last edited:

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
can you go to c:/windows/minidump
copy the minidump files to another folder
upload the copies from new folder to a file sharing website and show links here... i get someone to convert them for us.

what motherboard model is it?

ntoskrnl = windows kernel. its often blamed as it does so much. Never is actual problem.
 
Reactions: Ludde_Pudde

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
I wait and see what the dump files show. I am not sure when friend will be here.

since you only new, if you edit your 1st post, it makes the thread go into a state where a mod needs to approve the edit - its just a spam protection thing. I fixed it last time, just letting you know in case it disappears :)
 
Nov 30, 2019
10
0
10
0
Yes i had BSOD´s before i changed RAM. I thought that my old RAM was the problem that was why I upgraded,
and that is the right computer aswell.
 

gardenman

Admirable
Herald
Hi, I ran the dump file through the debugger and got the following information: https://pste.eu/p/1OS3.html

File information:111819-6984-01.dmp (Nov 18 2019 - 09:12:59)
Bugcheck:SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION (3B)
Driver warnings:*** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for ntoskrnl.exe
Probably caused by:? (Process: ?)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 7 Hour(s), 00 Min(s), and 06 Sec(s)

I had trouble reading this dump file. It may be partially corrupt, or may just be my debugger causing problems.

Motherboard: ASUSTeK G11CD-K
BIOS Version: 401

This information can be used by others to help you. I can't help you with this. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Your bios version - 0401 isn't even showing on the PC website, earliest there is 0905

Your bios: 0401
Dated: 11/25/16

Oldest on Asus website -
Version 0905
Dated 1/16/2017

i suspect the bios you have is the release version. Updating to the latest bios could fix the errors.
you are at least 7 versions behind which could make a big difference. All improve system stability
https://www.asus.com/us/Tower-PCs/G11CD/HelpDesk_BIOS/

I am not sure how you update the bios, it is likely like other asus boards and you download the zip file of the newest version only, extract it onto a USB, boot into bios, advanced, tools menu and there should be something called EZ Update 2 or 3 (if you lucky). put usb into drive and the tool should install the bios.

The manual really doesn't help.
 

gardenman

Admirable
Herald
Sorry, I'm not sure why I didn't see this post. I ran the dump file through the debugger and got the following information: https://pste.eu/p/ahuQ.html

File information:120119-7812-01.dmp (Dec 1 2019 - 13:05:17)
Bugcheck:CRITICAL_PROCESS_DIED (EF)
Driver warnings:*** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for ntoskrnl.exe
Probably caused by:? (Process: ?)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 0 Hour(s), 12 Min(s), and 24 Sec(s)

This dump file appears to be corrupt, or my debugger didn't like it.

This information can be used by others to help you. I can't help you with this. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Unable to verify timestamp for ntoskrnl.exe << something not quite right with that , its the kernel... its the 2nd BSOD in a row where it can't even identify the kernel.


Try this:
right click start button
choose powershell (admin)
type SFC /scannow and press enter
once its completed, copy/paste this command into same window:
Repair-WindowsImage -Online -RestoreHealth and press enter
SFC fixes system files, second command cleans image files, re run SFC if it failed to fix all files and restart PC

by the way i updated to 0807
why not 1002? its odd to me that they updated bios but not Intel Management Engine Interface. Its odd you have it installed but its not on the website? Your version is from 2016, newest is 2019 - https://downloadcenter.intel.com/product/67496/Intel-Management-Engine-Interface-Intel-MEI-

normally IMEI is updated to match current bios, Asus are slack and never update their old sites (I have a Asus motherboard, I have noticed)
 
Nov 30, 2019
10
0
10
0
I updated to 0807 because I had problems with getting 1002 to work i didn't show up in my usb when i was in EZ Update. But 0807 did.

I ran the SFC/scannow commansd and it said:

Windows Resource Protection found corrupt files but was unable to fix some of them.
For online repairs, details are included in the CBS log file located at
windir\Logs\CBS\CBS.log. For example C:\Windows\Logs\CBS\CBS.log. For offline
repairs, details are included in the log file provided by the /OFFLOGFILE flag.

If you want the file for it here it is: https://we.tl/t-31vNbD7i4J

After that i ran the Repair-WindowsImage -Online -RestoreHealth command and it said:

Repair-WindowsImage : The restore operation failed. Either the repair source was not found or the component store cannot be repaired.
At line:1 char:1
  • Repair-WindowsImage -Online -RestoreHealth
  • ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
+ CategoryInfo : NotSpecified: :)) [Repair-WindowsImage], COMException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : Microsoft.Dism.Commands.RepairWindowsImageCommand

Then i ran the SFC /scannow again but it said the same thing. After that i restarted my computer.

(Did you want be to update my Intel Management Engine Interface )
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
We need to use the more powerful version of dism then. This one uses a Fresh ISO of win 10 as its source for new files and should fix the problem.

Download a copy of the win 10 iso from Here - create ISO by telling it you want to make DVD - and then mount that ISO in file explorer (see Here) and then copy paste the below command into command prompt (admin)

DISM /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth /source:WIM:X:\Sources\Install.wim:1 /LimitAccess

Where "X" is the drive letter where the ISO is located. Simply change the "X" to the correct drive letter

Once its run, redo SFC /scannow and see if it fixes the files it can't now

Copy paste above command as DISM commands need to have exact spacing. Otherwise they won't work.
 
Nov 30, 2019
10
0
10
0
Hi i tried to run the command after i had the ISO in "This PC". And it said F so i replaced X with F.
When i copied it tho it made spaces so i removed all of them but it still didn´t work.

DISM /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth /source:WIM:F:\Sources\Install.wim:1 /LimitAccess

Error message:
DISM/Online/Cleanup-Image/RestoreHealth/source:WIM:F:\Sources\Install.wim:1/LimitAccess : The term 'DISM/Online/Cleanup
-Image/RestoreHealth/source:WIM:F:\Sources\Install.wim:1/LimitAccess' is not recognized as the name of a cmdlet, functi
on, script file, or operable program. Check the spelling of the name, or if a path was included, verify that the path i
s correct and try again.
At line:1 char:1
DISM/Online/Cleanup-Image/RestoreHealth/source:WIM:F:\Sources\Install ...
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
  • CategoryInfo : ObjectNotFound: (DISM/Online/Cle...m:1/LimitAccess:String) [], CommandNotFoundException
  • FullyQualifiedErrorId : CommandNotFoundException
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

When i ran this one with spaces:

DISM /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth /source:WIM:F: \Sources \Install.wim:1 /LimitAccess

I still got an error message:

Error: 0x800f081f

The source files could not be found.
Use the "Source" option to specify the location of the files that are required to restore the feature. For more information on specifying a source location, see http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=243077.

The DISM log file can be found at C:\WINDOWS\Logs\DISM\dism.log
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
So after you made the iso you went here and mounted the ISO - https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/3579-mount-unmount-iso-img-file-windows-10-a.html and that is F?

I would suggest a repair install as it will replace the entire image and we shouldn't have to fight DISM to get windows fixed - https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/16397-repair-install-windows-10-place-upgrade.html - all it does is replaces windows, everything else is left as is. You will need to install windows updates again but there aren't many since 1909 was released last month.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS