[SOLVED] Building PC - No post, restart loop. What could be the issue?

Jan 10, 2020
My friend is building a PC for his parents. I have never built a PC and just bought my first gaming PC last month (pre-built). I have limited knowledge based on my research. My friend invited me to join in on the process so that I could learn about building my own PC/ upgrading. He has already built one prior, but is not an expert. So here is the situation;

After getting everything set up, we tested the rig which would not post. The set up turns on, fans are running and RGB is on but it gets stuck in a reboot loop. We were thinking it could be the Ram as my friend found out it is more powerful than expected, and was compatible with the MOBO based on the PC part picker list but might not be based on the MOBO website. There are mixed reviews online about it. We pulled his ram from his PC (that has RGB, which is the only difference between the two), and the RGB wouldn't light up.

Could it just be that the RAM is not compatible with the MOBO, or could this be something else?

Thank you in advance.

Solution
An update I can provide right now is for the specs that I know;
  • Asrock B450 Mobo
  • Amd Ryzen 5 1600x
  • Asrock Rx 580 8gb GPU
  • Gskill Venfeance V 3200 ram (2 * 8gb)
  • Consair RX 650 PSU
My friend said he can get me more information once he is home.
Are there any beeps that you hear (like 3 long and 1 short for example)? If so that is a "beep code" and you would need to look in the motherboard manual for what it means. Using that code can help you figure out what is going on. Are there any lights on the motherboard that give an error number that you can look up in the motherboard manual for troubleshooting?

It is possible that the RAM speed isn't compatible, however, that would be more likely after you set the XMP...
Jan 10, 2020
I will get the full list from him as I dont recall all the specs. I will post them as soon as I can.